Français

Mosaïque (au)2

Mosaïque (au)2 (Mosaic Squared) is a collective project aimed at involving the Francophone community in the development of arts and culture in the Yukon. The community can participate in all three phases of the project: reflection, vote and realization.

Phase 1

Reflection

The artist Laurence Petit met with the community on March 22, 2016, to discuss the installation location, the visual aspect of the work and the manner in which the Francophone community would be represented.

Phase 2

Vote

Based on the community’s reflection, the artist proposes two sketches for creating the mosaic. During the Yukon Francophonie Day festivities on May 14, 2016, participants voted for their favourite sketch. The winning sketch (the second in the photo), won with 29 votes against 23 votes for the other.

Phase 3

Realization

Young and old alike will be able to learn about mosaic techniques and collaborate in its creation during workshops conducted in French. The making of the mosaic will take place from September 12 to 30, 2016, in the Arts Underground studio.

The work will be unveiled to the general public at the 2016 Culture Days.

 

Vote

River of joy

The river is depicted as powerful and joyful, as it is a source of outdoor pleasure for many Franco-Yukoners.

Deep in the mountains (part 1)

Nestled deep in the Yukon mountains lives a dynamic, tight-knit Yukon Francophone community. United by music, the arts, the outdoors and creativity, its members are warm and generous.

Deep in the mountains (part 2)

Our house defines us, it is part of our identity. Participants can reproduce their home in glass paste or some other material, like buttons or dishes, to leave a little of themselves in the mosaic.

Dream

The dreamcatcher is a wink to the First Nations and their culture. May Franco-Yukoners continue to follow their dreams!

Vote
Laurence

A word from Laurence Petit, mosaic artist

“I started out in advertising but when I discovered mosaic, I was immediately spellbound. […] Self-taught, I perfected and developed my technique in artist studios in Montreal, Philadelphia, Barcelona and San Francisco. […] Today I design customized works for individuals, share my passions in schools by conducting collective projects, and I create expressive works to add a little fun to my clients’ decor.”

About the installation location

In downtown Whitehorse, at the end of Main Street, Teegatha’Oh Zheh Park, developed by the City of Whitehorse, is a pleasant and peaceful place to relax. Our collective work is a revitalization and appropriation solution for this public space, and is encouraged and supported by the City.

Become a project partner!

In addition to participating in the creation of the work, your organization or business can enjoy high visibility by supporting this collective and artistic community project. In exchange for a financial or in-kind contribution, we offer:

 

Advantages

 

$ 1,000

or more or equivalent in exchange of services

$ 500

or more or equivalent in exchange of services

$ 250

or more or equivalent in exchange of services

Logo on advertising posters and other artwork unveiling promotion tools

Visible logo at artwork unveiling Large Medium-sized Small
Logo on this website Linked to your website
Visible logo in the creation studio Large Medium-sized Small
Visible logo on-site during the installation Large Medium-sized Small
Mention of partners at the artwork unveiling  
Acknowledgement on your social media  
Banner on-site during the installation    
Logo engraved on the artwork’s permanent explanatory plaque    

Information

AFY

Delphine Bouteiller
Community Cultural Action Officer
867-668-2663 extension 854
dbouteiller@afy.yk.ca

afy.yk.ca

In partenership with

Thanks to

English

Mosaïque (au)2

Mosaïque (au)2 est un projet collectif qui a pour objectif d’inciter la communauté franco-yukonnaise à prendre part au développement des arts et de la culture au Yukon. La communauté est invitée à participer aux trois phases du projet, soit la réflexion, le vote et la réalisation.

Phase 1

Réflexion

L’artiste mosaïste Laurence Petit a rencontré la communauté, le 22 mars 2016, pour discuter du lieu d’installation, de l’aspect visuel de l’œuvre et de la manière dont la communauté francophone y serait représentée.

Phase 2

Vote

L’artiste propose deux croquis, inspirés de la réflexion communautaire, pour la réalisation de l’œuvre en mosaïque. Lors des festivités de la Journée de la francophonie yukonnaise, le 14 mai 2016, les participantes et participants ont voté pour leur croquis préféré. Le croquis gagnant (le deuxième sur la photo) a remporté 29 votes contre 23 votes pour l’autre.

Phase 3

Réalisation

Petits et grands pourront découvrir les techniques de la mosaïque et collaborer à la création de l’œuvre lors d’ateliers en français. La réalisation de la mosaïque aura lieu du 12 au 30 septembre 2016, au studio d’Arts Underground.

L’œuvre sera inaugurée lors des Journées de la culture 2016.

 

Vote

Rivière joyeuse

La rivière est représentée fougueuse et joyeuse, car elle est source de plaisir en plein air pour de nombreux Franco‑Yukonnais et Franco‑Yukonnaises.

Au creux des montagnes (partie 1)

Au creux des montagnes yukonnaises se trouve une communauté dynamique de francophones tissés serrés. Unis par la musique, les arts, le plein air et la créativité, ils sont généreux et chaleureux.

Au creux des montagnes (partie  2)

Notre maison nous caractérise, elle fait partie de notre identité. Les participantes et participants pourront donc la reproduire à l’aide de pâte de verre, mais aussi à partir de matières qu’ils pourront fournir afin de laisser un peu d’eux-mêmes dans la mosaïque, comme des boutons ou de la vaisselle, par exemple.

Rêve

Le capteur de rêves est un clin d’œil aux Premières nations et à leur culture. Que les Franco-Yukonnaises et Franco-Yukonnais continuent de nourrir leurs rêves!

Vote
Laurence

Mot de Laurence Petit, artiste mosaïste

« J’ai d’abord fait mon chemin en publicité, mais lorsque j’ai découvert la mosaïque, j’ai immédiatement été envoûtée. […] Autodidacte, je suis allée parfaire et développer ma technique dans les ateliers d’artiste à Montréal, Philadelphie, Barcelone et San Francisco. […] Je crée aujourd’hui des œuvres sur mesure pour des particuliers, je partage mes passions dans les écoles en dirigeant des projets collectifs et je crée des œuvres d’expression afin de mettre un brin de folie dans le décor de mes clients! »

À propos du lieu d’installation

Situé au centre-ville de Whitehorse, au bout de la rue Main, le parc récréatif Teegatha’Oh Zheh est un lieu de détente paisible et agréable aménagé par la Ville de Whitehorse. Notre œuvre collective s’inscrit dans les efforts de revitalisation et d’appropriation de cet espace public, et est encouragée et soutenue par la Ville.

 

Devenir partenaire du projet

En plus de participer à la création de l’œuvre, votre organisme ou entreprise peut bénéficier d’une grande visibilité en soutenant la réalisation de ce projet communautaire collectif et artistique. Voici ce que nous vous offrons en échange d’une contribution financière ou de services :

 

Avantages

 

1 000 $

et plus ou équivalent en échange de services

500 $

et plus ou équivalent en échange de services

250 $

et plus ou équivalent en échange de services

Logo sur les affiches publicitaires et autres outils de promotion du dévoilement

Logo visible lors du dévoilement Gros Moyen Petit
Logo sur cette page Web Avec lien vers votre site Web
Logo visible dans le studio de création Gros Moyen Petit
Logo visible sur le site durant l’installation Gros Moyen Petit
Mention des partenaires lors du dévoilement  
Remerciements sur vos médias sociaux  
Bannière sur le site lors de l’installation    
Logo gravé sur la plaque explicative permanente de l’œuvre    

Renseignements

AFY

Delphine Bouteiller
Agente de projet en action culturelle communautaire
867-668-2663, poste 854
dbouteiller@afy.yk.ca

afy.yk.ca

En collaboration avec

Merci à